The project involves the installation of Communications Based Train
Control (CBTC), including lineside equipment and onboard systems on the
fleet of 30 trains.
The project will be completed in 2014, and will give SL the option of migrating to driverless operation in the longer-term.
The 41km, 36-station north-south line is operated as two routes - T13
from Norsborg to Ropsten, and T14 from Fruängen to Mörby Centrum.