The 12-year concession will run from December 2019 to December 2031 and covers 3.4 million train-km per annum, of which 1.1 million are in Bavaria. The network is currently used by 17,300 passengers per day and comprises the following routes:
• Asshaffenburg - Miltenberg - Wertheim - Lauda - Crailsheim
• Crailsheim - Schwäbisch Hall - Hessental - Öhringen - Heilbronn
• Miltenberg - Walldürn - Seckach and some services to Osterburken
• some services between Osterburken and Lauda, and
• some services between Würzburg and Lauda Bad Mergentheim.

DB Regio will use existing class 642 Desiro two-car DMUs which will be modernised. The trains will be equipped with air-conditioning, toilets for disabled passengers, and face-to-face seating. DB Regio will provide free Wi-Fi and power sockets on the trains as well as Wi-Fi at large stations.

Interchange with other train and bus services at major junctions will be improved. Train frequency on part of the network in Baden-Württemberg will be increased by about 10%. The Wertheim - Crailsheim and Heilbronn - Schwäbisch Hall - Hessental services will be stepped up to an hourly frequency throughout the day. Additional trains will be introduced between Bad Mergentheim and Tauberbischofsheim to connect with Stuttgart - Würzburg Regional Express services.