The contract, which runs from December 2021 to December 2027, calls for the operation of around 4.35 million train-km annually across a network of seven routes:

  • Würzburg - Nuremberg
  • Würzburg - Bamberg
  • Würzburg - Lauda
  • Würzburg - Gemunden
  • Würzburg - Marktbreit
  • Gemünden - Schlüchtern, and
  • Gemünden - Aschaffenburg.

All services will be operated using existing Alstom class 440 EMUs.

Frequencies will be stepped up from two-hourly to hourly on Saturdays and Sundays on the Würzburg - Lauda and Würzburg - Bamberg lines. There will also be a half-hourly Würzburg - Marktbreit service between 13.00 and 19.00 on weekdays as well as additional morning and evening services.

New stations will open at Würzburg - Heidingsfeld East on the Würzburg - Marktbreit - Aschaffenburg line and Würzburg - Heidingsfeld West on Würzburg - Lauda and these will be served by hourly trains.