MTR Jota, part of the Hong Kong-based MTR Corporation, will operate under the Mälartåg brand, displacing current operator, state-owned SJ, which runs the services under a contract awarded in December 2016.

The SKr 4bn ($US 471.9m) eight-year contract awarded to MTR Jota covers the operation of services on the network and the maintenance of vehicles and the depot in Eskilstuna. The contract includes an optional one-year extension.

MTR Jota will be responsible for the operation of five regional lines in the Stockholm-Mälardalen valley, including the four lines currently operated by SJ:

  • Örebro - Arboga - Kungsör - Eskilstuna - Strängnäs - Leggesta - Nykvarn - Södertälje - Flemingsberg - Stockholm
  • Hallsberg - Vingåker - Katrineholm - Flen - Gnesta - Södertälje - Flemingsberg - Stockholm
  • Norrköping - Kolmården - Nyköping - Vagnhärad - Södertälje - Flemingsberg - Stockholm, and
  • Linköping - Norrköping - Katrineholm - Flen - Hälleforsnäs - Eskilstuna - Kvicksund - Kolbäck - Västerås - Ransta - Sala.

In addition, the Uppsala - Tierp - Gävle route will be integrated into the network as a fifth Mälartåg line under the new contract.

MTR Jota will operate a fleet of 62 trains, including 12 Stadler Kiss double-deck trains scheduled for delivery in 2021.

Following MTR Jota’s takeover of services, Mälardalstrafik will take over responsibility for customer service and ticket sales.

The contract was awarded after a several-year procurement process by Mälardalstrafik. The agreement will be signed when the contract lock has expired.

“Today’s allocation is an important piece of the puzzle in a historically long-term major regional investment in regional train traffic - all together with the aim of creating a cohesive transport system and sustainable development in the growing Stockholm-Mälardalen region,” says Ms Helena Ekroth, CEO of Mälardalstrafik.

SJ will continue to operate three lines in the Mälardalen region after the handover of Mälartåg services:

  • Stockholm - Västerås - Örebro - Göthenburg
  • Stockholm - Uppsala, and
  • Linköping - Stockholm - Gävle.