The 7.5km eastern section between MG Road and Baiyappanahalli opened in October 2011, while the 6.8km western stretch from Magadi Road to Mysuru Road was inaugurated last November. Completion of the line has been delayed by technical issues during construction.

The core section of the Purple Line includes five new stations: City Railway Station, Kempegowda Majestic, Visveshwaraya Central College, Vidhana Soudha, and Cubbon Park.

The remaining sections of the 42.3km first phase of the Bangalore metro network are due to be completed by next year.