The extension adds seven new stations to the Green Line: Thirumangalam, Anna Nagar Tower, Anna Nagar East, Shenoy Nagar, Pachaiyappa’s College, Kilpauk and Nehru Park.

Stations are equipped with platform screen doors and services are operated by a fleet of Alstom trains.

The initial 10.2km section of the Green Line from Alandur to Koyambedu was inaugurated in June 2015 and the 1.2km southern section from Alandur to St Thomas Mount was added in September 2016. The final 2.7km section to Eggmore and Central Station is due to open next year.

The opening of the latest section of the Green Line takes Chennai’s metro network to 27.9km, with 17.1km of the first phase still to be completed.

Speaking at the opening ceremony, Naidu said the Indian government is poised to approve the second phase of the network. “We’ll sanction consent as soon as possible and send the same to the Finance Ministry and Public Investment Board,” he said.

The 108km second phase comprises three lines: Madhavaram - Siruseri (45.8km); Madhavaram - Sholinganallur (44.7km); and CMBT - Light House (17.1km).

For detailed data on metro projects around the globe, subscribe to IRJ Pro.