The fully-elevated Jurong Region Line (JRL) will bring western areas of Singapore onto the rail network, serving Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Jurong Industrial Estate, Jurong Innovation District, Pandan Reservoir and the future Tengah area. The line will also serve Jurong Lake District, supporting plans to transform the area into Singapore’s western business district.

The JRL was first proposed in the 2013 Land Transport Master Plan as a 20km line which was expected to open by around 2025. However, following the completion of engineering studies it has now been decided to construct a 24km line with 24 stations, including interchanges with other MRT lines at Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East.

Jurong region line map resized

To allow additional time for utilities diversions and viaduct construction, the JRL will open in three stages from 2026 onwards:
• Phase 1 (2026): Choa Chu Kang - Boon Lay/Tawas (10 stations)
• Phase 2 (2027): Tengah - Pandan Reservoir branch (seven stations), and
• Phase 3 (2028): Extensions to NTU in the west and Jurong Pier in the south (seven stations).

The JRL is expected to carry around 200,000 passengers per day in the initial years of operation, increasing to around 500,000 passengers per day when the Juring Innovation District, Tengah area and Jurong Lake District developments have been completed.

The project includes the construction of a combined bus and rolling stock depot in the Tengah area, which will house the operational control centre and provide stabling and maintenance facilities for around 100 JRL trains. A stabling facility will also be constructed near Peng Kang Hill station.