The 27km line will have 10 stations, which will accommodate nine-coach trains. The project has been on hold since the 1990s but will now be completed in 2015.

The City and Industrial Development Corporation of Maharashtra will fund 67% of the project, with the remainder coming from India's Ministry of Railways.