The 16.7km Line 8 runs from Jintan Road in the north of the city to Liyuan in the south, with a tunnel beneath the Yangtze River. The line runs underground for its entire length and serves 12 stations, including interchanges with four other metro lines.

The 35km Yangluo Line (Line 21) is Wuhan’s first suburban metro line. The 16-station line runs east from Houhu Boulevard to Xinrong Long-Distance Bus Station, Qinglong, and Jintai.

In the west of the city, Line 1 has been extended 3.6km from Dongwu Boulevard to Jinghe with three new stations.