By 2030, €600m (at 2018 prices) will be invested in Upper Austria’s regional rail network. No further line closures are planned and, with the exception of the Haiding – Aschach branch, which will be transferred to provincial control, all lines will continue to be operated by ÖBB with significant improvements planned.

Under the agreement, 86 stations will be modernised and the Steindorf - Braunau, Neumarkt-Kallham - Braunau - Simbach, Linz Urfahr - Kleinzell, Wels - Sattledt and St Valentin - St Nikola lines will be electrified by 2030.

Track-doubling is also planned on the Nettingsdorf - Rohr-Bad Hall section of the Linz - Selzthal Pyhrn Line.

In Lower Austria €386m will be invested in the regional network by 2027, with the funding split equally between electrification schemes and other infrastructure investments.

The St Pölten - Schrambach/Hainfeld, Pöchlarn - Scheibbs, Gämserndorf - Marchegg and Herzogenburg - Krems lines will be electrified with track and signalling improvements on several branch lines and some main lines. The latter will also benefit from station improvements.