All stations on the network now have at least a 30-minute interval service, with stations in the St Gallen area being served every 15 minutes.

The SFr 270m ($US 301m) project, which was largely funded by the Swiss government, involved a number of infrastructure enhancements to provide the additional capacity required, including track-doubling, resignalling, platform extensions, and the construction of new platforms at St Gallen.

The network is operated by Swiss Federal Railways (SBB), South Eastern Railway (SOB), Thurbo, Appenzell Railways, and the Frauenfeld-Wil Railway.