The six-car dual-voltage trains are based on the German trainbuilder's Desiro City platform and will replace class 313 EMUs built in 1976/77. They will run north from London Moorgate to Welwyn, Hertford, Stevenage and Letchworth.

More than 1200 class 700 vehicles have been ordered in six, eight, and 12-coach formations.