Under the agreement, which represents the first transfer of so-called Balance of Territory (TET) trains currently operated by French National Railways (SNCF) to regional control, Normandy will assume responsibility for Paris - Caen - Cherbourg, Trouville - Deauville, Paris - Rouen - Le Harve, Paris - Granville, Paris - Evreux - Serquigny, and Caen - Le Mans - Tours services by the beginning of 2020.

In return, the French government will provide €720m for new rolling stock and Valls confirmed that infrastructure manager SNCF Network will maintain its commitment to invest €500m in the region by 2020.