The remaining nine trains will be delivered by August and following commissioning the fleet will enter service when the line opens next year.

The 7km South Island Line will be a medium-capacity line linking the existing MTR network at Admiralty with the Southern District of Hong Kong. The line will have four stations: Ocean Park, Wong Chuk Hang, Lei Tung and South Horizons.