Berlin-Brandenburg Transport Authority (VBB) awarded DB Regio a contract on behalf of the State of Brandenburg and the Greater Leipzig Transport Authority (ZVNL) on December 1 2019 to operate the Lausitz network.

The new trains will have 180 seats and barrier-free access, along with Wi-Fi, charging stations for e-bikes, energy-saving lighting, power sockets with integrated USB charging ports, inductive charging in the tables and premium first class sections.

The trains will cover 4.3 million train-km a year and will operate on the following routes:

  • RB11 Frankfurt (Oder) - Cottbus - Finsterwalde - Falkenberg (Elster)
  • RB49 Cottbus - Ruhland - Elsterwerda-Biehla - Falkenberg (Elster)
  • RE10 Frankfurt (Oder) - Cottbus - Falkenberg (Elster) - Eilenburg - Leipzig main station
  • RE10V Cottbus - Leipzig main station, and
  • RE13 Cottbus - Senftenberg - Elsterwerda.

Siemens is building the EMUs at its plant in Krefeld, Germany, and is planning to deliver the trains from autumn 2022. Commissioning will take place between October 2021 and November 2022, and passenger service is scheduled to begin in late 2022.

For detailed information on fleet orders from around the world, subscribe to IRJ Pro.